School of Law's Philip Jessup International Law Moot Court Team ranked best in the U.S., second best in the world

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Apr 17, 2006

HONOLULU — The Philip Jessup International Law Moot Court Team from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa‘s William S. Richardson School of Law defeated over 90 national and international teams to clinch the award for writing the second place memorial (brief) at the 2006 Hardy C. Dillard Competition.

"This means that our team has been recognized for writing the best memorial of any U.S. team in this year‘s competition and the second best memorial of all the teams from law schools all over the world after Xiamen University in China, which finished first," said William S. Richardson School of Law Faculty Coach and Professor Jon Van Dyke.

In February, team members Rebecca Gardner, Lindsay McAneeley, Nathan Okubo, Molly Stebbins, and Robin Scott won the best memorial award and Molly Stebbins placed third in the best oralist category in the regional competition in Anaheim, Calif., to advance to the international competition. The event required each team to submit a brief analyzing and applying international law to a hypothetical problem involving a multinational corporation‘s involvement in human rights violations and sovereignty over natural resources.

As a top-five finisher in the Dillard Competition, the William S. Richardson School of Law‘s brief will be entered into the Baxter Competition to determine the best single applicant and best single respondent memorials in the world. Baxter results are set to be announced in May.

For further information about the Philip Jessup International Law Moot Court Team, contact Professor Jon Van Dyke, faculty coach, at

For more information, visit: