UH honors 2006 Regents and Presidential Scholars

Twenty incoming freshmen and 10 college juniors will receive the prestigious scholarships

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Anna Ah Sam, (808) 956-9217
Office of Student Equity
Kristen Bonilla, (808) 956-5039
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Jul 17, 2006

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi will honor and recognize 30 students awarded with the prestigious Regents and Presidential Scholarships at an annual awards dinner in their honor on Thursday, July 20, at the UH Mānoa Campus Center Ballroom. The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding incoming freshmen who receive at least a 1,300 combined mathematics and verbal score on the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT), maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000. The program is administered by the Student Equity, Excellence and Diversity Office at UH Mānoa.


  • Henry Cheng, Kalani High School, chemistry
  • Megan Chock, Iolani High School, pre-medicine
  • Jay Chow, Keaʻau High School, education
  • Jennifer Fukugawa, Baldwin High School, biology
  • Lessa Furusho, Aiea High School, accounting
  • Kimberly Heu, Roosevelt High School, mathematics
  • Katherine Hoppe, Waiʻanae High School, marine biology
  • Tiffany Lau, Roosevelt High School, education
  • Miranda Li, Moanalua High School, engineering
  • Evan Mosier, Kaiser High School, biology
  • Corinne Powell, King Kekaulike High School, astronomy
  • Arlyn Ramos, Farrington High School, engineering
  • Kiara Sakamoto, Moanalua High School, zoology
  • Lily Shao, Roosevelt High School, Japanese
  • Marci Takemoto, Maui High School, biology
  • Mari Takemoto-Chock, Waiakea High School, journalism
  • That Nam Tran Ton, Lanakila Baptist High School, biomedical sciences
  • Sylvia Trinh, Kalaheo High School, Chinese
  • Ting-Cheng Wen, Kaimuki High School, mathematics
  • Joy Yanazaki, Kalani High School, marketing

  • Clinton Burdick, physics, Maui Community College transfer to UH Mānoa
  • Shuangfeng Cai, accounting, UH Mānoa
  • Timothy Fallis, English, UH Hilo
  • Christy Ann Gilman*, chemistry, UH Mānoa
    (*2006 Albert J. Simone Presidential Scholar, a distinction bestowed upon the highest ranked Presidential Scholar)
  • Tamar Lani, interdisciplinary studies, UH Mānoa
  • Ka Yee Leung, information and computer science, UH Mānoa
  • Sean Mosier, psychology, UH Mānoa
  • Jessica Shelton, microbiology, UH Mānoa
  • Daniel Sugai, biology, UH Mānoa
  • Jose Carlos Tome, secondary education, Kapiʻolani Community College transfer to UH Mānoa