Entries sought for 2007 Kenneth F. Brown Asia Pacific Culture and Architecture Design Award

Winner will be invited to speak at the 2007 International Symposium on Asia Pacific Architecture hosted by the UH Manoa School of Architecture

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Kazi Ashraf, (808) 956-3515
School of Architecture
Kristen Bonilla, (808) 956-5039
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Oct 31, 2006

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa‘s School of Architecture and the Asia-Pacific Center for Architecture (APCA), in association with Architects Regional Council Asia (ARCASIA), is soliciting entries for the fifth Kenneth F. Brown Architecture Design Award Program.

The program is a biennial event that recognizes outstanding examples of contemporary architecture in the Asia Pacific region. Inaugurated in 1995 with a goal of establishing a critical foundation for the improvement of the built environment, it is named in honor of eminent architect and civic-minded humanitarian, Kenneth F. Brown, FAIA.

The award winner(s) will receive a cash prize of $25,000 (taxes may apply) and will be invited as a speaker(s) at the International Symposium on Asia Pacific Architecture, which will take place in Spring 2007 at the UH Mānoa School of Architecture.

The design award program is open to any architectural work located either in the continent of Asia or a region that touches the Pacific Ocean. Entered projects should have been completed between January 1996 and November 2006. In evaluating the competition submissions, the jury will seek a design intervention that makes the most sensitive, creative, and critical response to its built, cultural, and natural environments.

A non-refundable registration fee of US $125 for each project entry should be submitted to the UH Mānoa School of Architecture no later than December 10, 2006. Prospective entrants may register by mailing the fee ($125 for each project) by check (payable in U.S. dollars to "Asia-Pacific Center for Architecture" drawn in a bank in the United States) or an international money order, along with the following information: Name, Organization, Telephone Number, Fax Number, E-mail address, and the number of projects to be entered. For credit card payment, use the online registration form or contact the school for a form.

Upon receipt of the registration information and fee, required forms and detailed instructions for submitting necessary documentation of each project will be sent. The project submission deadline is January 31, 2007. The Design Award Program will retain all submitted entry materials for its archive.

Kenneth F. Brown (United States)
Istuko Hasegawa (Architect, Japan)
Kerry Hill (Architect, Singapore)
Robert Ivy (Editor-in-Chief, Architectural Record, United States)


December 10, 2006Registration Deadline
January 31, 2007Submission Deadline
February 17-18, 2007Jury Deliberations
April 2007Award Announcement
Kazi K. Ashraf, Co-Chair, 2007 Kenneth F. Brown Award Program
School of Architecture
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
2410 Campus Road, Honolulu, HI 96822, USA
Phone: (808) 956-3515
Fax: (808) 956-7778
E-mail: kbda@hawaii.edu
Website: www.arch.hawaii.edu

For more information, visit: http://www.arch.hawaii.edu