UH Hilo 2018-2019 Chancellor's Scholarship recipients named

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Alyson Y Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 932-7669
Dir, Media Rel, University Relations
Posted: May 8, 2018

Thirteen students from public and private high schools in Hawaiʻi have been awarded the prestigious Chancellor’s Scholarship by the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.

The award, valued in excess of $29,000, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawaiʻi high school who earned either a GPA of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math) or a composite score of 27 on the ACT while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

All Chancellor Scholars are required to enroll as full-time students, and earn a minimum of 24 credits each academic year. They must also maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and/or community service with other Chancellor Scholars.

The 2018-2019 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools include:

• Michelle Biete, Leilehua High School
• Rod Neil Burbano, Honoka`a High School
• Maria dePillis-Shintaku, Waiakea High School
• Caleb Kow, Kealakehe High School
• Amanda Kurano, University Laboratory School
• Christian Lopez, Kapolei High School
• Nevan Lowe, Waialua High School
• Alyssa Mathews, Waiakea High School
• Tara Marie Takafuji, Waiakea High School
• Trayden Tamiya, Waiakea High School
• Emily Travis, Mililani High School
• Chloe Waters, Kamehameha Schools Hawaiʻi Campus
• Megan Woolsey, James Campbell High School