Leeward Community College seeks visionary and collaborative leader

University of Hawaiʻi
Wayde Oshiro, (808) 455-0378
Chancellor Search Coordinator, Leeward Community College
Deborah Nakagawa, (808) 956-0321
Executive Assistant, Vice President for Community Colleges
Posted: Jan 11, 2019

The search for Leeward Community College’s new chancellor has begun. The job was announced locally and nationally on January 11, 2019, and the expected start date is July 2019. Leeward CC’s former chancellor Manuel Cabral retired in June 2018. He served as chancellor for 10 years.

In making the search announcement, University of Hawaiʻi Vice President for Community Colleges John Morton said Leeward CC is seeking a visionary and collaborative leader who can guide the college to address challenges and opportunities.  

“The next chancellor must embody Leeward CC’s mission, vision of being a learning-centered institution committed to student achievement and values,” Morton said.

Morton also said that Leeward CC’s values are kaiāulu (community), kākoʻo a hōʻihi i nā kānaka like ʻole (diversity and respect), kūpono (integrity) and kūākea (open access).

Search Timeline

  • February 2019: The Chancellor Search Advisory Committee (CSAC) plans to begin screening applicants and nominees.

  • April 2019: In addition to in-person interviews of the finalists, on-campus visits will be scheduled to ensure that students, faculty, staff and other stakeholders are able to attend open forums.

  • April 2019: Morton plans to submit his recommended candidate for appointment to UH President David Lassner.

  • July 2019: Expected start date of the new chancellor.

Chancellor Search Advisory Committee

The 19-member committee includes representation from Leeward CC’s constituency groups: faculty, students, Pūko‘a no Nā ‘Ewa (Native Hawaiian), civil service staff, Administrative Professional and Technical (APT) staff, operations and maintenance staff, administrator, organizational units and community leaders.

Michael Cawdery, Faculty - CSAC Chair

Genai Keliikuli, Pūko‘a no Nā ‘Ewa  - CSAC Vice Chair

William Aila, Jr, Community

Kayla Bradley, Student

Marc Earley, Student

Kathryn Fujioka-Imai, Faculty

Keith Hayashi, Community

Sheryl Higa, APT

Helmut Kae, Faculty

Kami Kato, Student Services

Warren Kawano, Faculty

Mark Lane, Administrator

Tracie Losch, Faculty

Cecilia Lucas, Administrative Affairs

Serina Makaiwa, Civil Service

Robert Oshita, Faculty

Leanne Riseley, Academic Services

Derek Tamashiro, Operations and Maintenance

Danny Wyatt, Wai‘anae-Moku

Wayde Oshiro, Search Coordinator

For more information on the Leeward CC chancellor position, see leeward.hawaii.edu/chancellor/search