University Language Access Webpage

The University of Hawaiʻi is committed to building a more inclusive and diverse community. This includes working to ensure that institutional barriers to the University’s essential programs and services are removed for individuals who have limited English proficiency. Hawaiʻi has one of the highest per-capita rates of limited English proficient persons (“LEP persons”) in the nation; those who have limited English proficiency in any one or more of four different domains – speaking, writing, reading, and listening/understanding. The University’s goal is to affirmatively address the language access needs for LEP persons, not only to meet state and federal laws concerning non-discrimination on the basis of national origin, but to ensure that we are promoting the full participation of those in our community, and optimizing our potential to become a richer and more engaging learning and working environment.

The University is affirmatively and continually working to enhance language access services for LEP persons to ensure that they will have meaningful access to essential University services and programs in areas that include health, safety, compliance, and student affairs. To this end, the University Language Access Committee, composed of members from the University System as well as each of the ten campuses, is charged with assessing the University’s areas of need and current resources and facilitating improvements to language assistance services.

Language Access Coordinators*

Campus Coordinator Position Email
UH Hilo Shaunda Makaimoku Compliance Officer, EEO/Title IX shaunda@hawaii.edu
UH Mānoa Debra Ishii Assistant to the Senior Executive, President’s Office debrai@hawaii.edu
UH Mānoa Dina Yoshimi Associate Professor, East Asian Languages and Literatures dinar@hawaii.edu
UH MānoaCTAHR Emilie Kirk Assistant Extension Agent, CTAHR erkirk@hawaii.edu
UH MānoaCTAHR Jeff Goodwin Interim Associate Dean, CTAHR jeffg3@hawaii.edu
UH Maui College Brian Moto Special Assistant to the Chancellor bmoto@hawaii.edu
UH West Oʻahu Beverly Baligad Director of Compliance/Title IX Coordinator bbaligad@hawaii.edu
Community College System Christine Chun Director of Compliance, EEO/AA, and Title IX, Office of the Vice President for Community Colleges csychun@hawaii.edu
Hawaiʻi Community College Kesha Kubo Coordinator, Student Affairs-Information Center keshas@hawaii.edu
Hawaiʻi Community College Christine Quintana Interim Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs cdamate@hawaii.edu
Honolulu Community College Wayne Sunahara Interim Dean, Communications and Services Programs waynens@hawaii.edu
Kapiʻolani Community College Jan Fried Interim Dean, Communications and Services Programs jfried@hawaii.edu
Kauaʻi Community College Calvin Shirai Interim Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services shiraic@hawaii.edu
Leeward Community College Tom Hirsbrunner Title IX Coordinator hirsbrun@hawaii.edu
Windward Community College Karen Cho Human Resources Manager kcho@hawaii.edu

*All LAC Coordinators also serve as LAC Committee Members

Additional Language Access Committee Members

University of Hawaiʻi System

Brian Aune
Investigator and Compliance Officer
Compliance, EEO/AA, and Title IX, Office of the Vice President for Community Colleges

Tamami Mohandie
Institutional Analyst, System EEO/AA Office

Keala Monaco
Executive Assistant, President’s Office

Corey Nakamoto
Lead Investigator, System EEO/AA Office

Jennifer Rose
Director, Office of Institutional Equity

Ryan Tanaka
CTE Educational Technology and Civil Rights Specialist
Hawaii P-20 Partnerships for Education

Dee Uwono
Interim Director of the System EEO/AA Office
Director & Title IX Coordinator for University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Additional Information and Resources on Language Access

U.S. Department of Justice: LEP.gov

Hawaiʻi Office of Language Access: health.hawaii.gov/ola/

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND RESOURCES FORTHCOMING

Last modified: August 4, 2022