Student Affairs

Student Affairs
2444 Dole St.
Bachman Annex 9, Room 5
Honolulu, HI 96822-2399

tel (808) 956-8753

Regents and Presidential Scholarships

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT total score of at least 1950 (old SAT)/1380 (new SAT) or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Apply for a Scholarship

  • Please contact the Admissions Office at UH Hilo, UH Manoa, or UH West O‘ahu for information on how to apply.

The Regents and Presidential Scholarships are administered by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at UH Hilo, UH Manoa and UH West O‘ahu in cooperation with the UH System Office of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs.

List of recipients from 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007 and 2006.

2010 Scholars

Regents Scholars

Name and high school

Corey Chang, Damien
Julian Cheng, Maryknoll
Daniel Ching, Mid-Pacific
Alicia Fung, Kalani
Romee Wizza Gaoiran, Moanalua
Julia Gomes, Castle
Daniel Hong, McKinley
Michelle Ige, Kalani
Zachary Lum, Kamehameha
Sarah Nishioka, Mililani
Adriene Oh, Hanalani
Jessica Prince, Kalani
Aaron Sewake, Waiakea
Jennifer Taguma, Kaimuki
Shawn Tahata, Kalani
Tiffany Tahata, Kalani
Jordan Takayama, Mililani
Jeremy Tomono, Waiakea
Jonathan Torigoe, Waiakea
Katharine Wong, Roosevelt

Presidential Scholars

Name and campus last attended

Trishia Carinio, Manoa
Jordan Chung, UH Manoa
Franalyn Galiza, Leeward
Alison Hatten, Hilo
Kahala Johnson, Maui College
Lihua Keating, Kapi‘olani
Mari Kuboyama, Manoa
Sin U Mok, Manoa
Katherine Mulliken, Hilo
Haunani Nagel, Leeward