Student Affairs

Student Affairs
2444 Dole St.
Bachman Annex 9, Room 5
Honolulu, HI 96822-2399

tel (808) 956-8753

Regents and Presidential Scholarships

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT total score of at least 1340 or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Apply for a Scholarship

For scholarship application information, please visit:

UH Manoa
UH Hilo
UH West O‘ahu

The Regents and Presidential Scholarships are administered by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at UH Hilo, UH Manoa and UH West O‘ahu in cooperation with the UH System Office of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs.

List of recipients from 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007 and 2006.

2015 Scholars

Regents Scholars

Name and high school

Jarek Garcia, Hanalani
Caleb Hsu, Kaiser
Aditya Kumar, UH Lab School
Jenise Lam, Kaiser
Victoria Lee, Sacred Hearts Academy
Rebekah Loving, Home School
Lauren Muraoka, Hanalani
Tyler Myers, Waialua
Max Nakamoto, Pearl City
Annie Nguyen, Pearl City
Alex Noveloso, Mililani
Tyler Okunami, Punahou
Ciarra-Lynn Parinas, Kamehameha-Hawai‘i
Vasant Patwardhan, Hanalani
Kevin Pham, Kaiser
Charissa Tan, Mid Pacific Institute
Sasha Yamada, Kahuku
Sabrina Young, Kaiser
Yi Yu, Roosevelt
Eryn Yuasa, Moanalua

Presidential Scholars

Name and campus last attended

Geryll Anthony Agno, Leeward CC
Eli Cintron, Leeward CC
Kyle Frazier, UH Hilo
Sai Furukawa, Maui College
Catherine Gardiner, Kapi‘olani CC
Lorie Ann Mangay-Ayam, UH Manoa
Scott Nishihara, UH Manoa
Sean Saito, UH Manoa
Coralyn Sunico, Leeward CC
Caylee Yamamoto, UH Manoa
Kelly Zheng, UH Manoa