Student Affairs

Student Affairs
2444 Dole St.
Bachman Annex 9, Room 5
Honolulu, HI 96822-2399

tel (808) 956-8753

Regents and Presidential Scholarships

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT total score of at least 1340 or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Apply for a Scholarship

For scholarship application information, please visit:

UH Manoa
UH Hilo
UH West O‘ahu

The Regents and Presidential Scholarships are administered by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at UH Hilo, UH Manoa and UH West O‘ahu in cooperation with the UH System Office of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs.

List of recipients from 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007 and 2006.

2017 Scholars

Regents Scholars

Name and high school

Tarah Aniya, Mililani
Jonah Bobilin, Island Pacific
Makenzie Cammack, Hawaii Baptist
Willy Chang, Roosevelt
Sydney Dempsey, Maui
Joshua Hu, Trinity Christian
Lian Huang, McKinley
Sarah Igarashi, Mililani
Kacie Kajihara, Kalani
Brooke Kawamura, Kamehameha Schools
Kelsey Ann Kimura, ‘Iolani
Adrian Kresnak, Hanalani
Nathan Mashiyama, Mililani
Christina Masutani, Leilehua
Amber O'Leary, Leilehua
Jocelyn Pham, La Pietra
Noah Rodrigues, Mililani
Erica Sawczynec, Kihei Public Charter
Sophia Smith, Hawaii Academy
Alexandria Tyau, Maui
Eleanor Yuan, Kaiser

Presidential Scholars

Name and campus last attended

Giselle Bryant, Kaua‘i CC
Nikki Dutro, Honolulu CC
Asia Helfrich, Hawai‘i CC
Jacqueline Kapu, Maui College
Jaclyn Lee, UH Manoa
Cyrus Ma, Kapi‘olani CC
Andrew Menor, UH Manoa
Diane Ramos, Leeward CC
Alyson Shoji, Kapi‘olani CC
Naomi Wang, UH Manoa