Skip to content

What We Do

The Council of Chief Academic Officers (CCAO), which includes representation from all ten University of Hawaiʻi campuses, is convened by the Associate Vice President for Academic Planning and Policy and the Vice President for Academic Strategy. CCAO meets twice a month to discuss emerging academic issues, coordinate curricular changes and academic initiatives across the UH System, and evaluate program proposals. CCAO is central to the proposal of new programs and the relevant program actions reported annually to the Board of Regents. CCAO members strive to support student success through the improvement of transfer and articulation, the continuous evaluation and development of academic programs and curricula, and the improvement and coordination of processes and practices that undergird the student academic experience.

Current Chief Academic Officers

Michael Bruno, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Laura Lyons, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Designee
Keiki Kawai’ae’a, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Harald Barkhoff, University of Hawaiʻi – West Oʻahu
Kimberley Collins, Hawaiʻi Community College
Susan Nishida, Honolulu Community College
David Nāwaʻa Napoleon, Kapiʻolani Community College
Frankie Harriss, Kauaʻi Community College
Keala Chock, Leeward Community College
Kaheleonolani Dukelow, University of Hawaiʻi Maui College
Melanie Wilson, Windward Community College

Other CCAO Participants

Debora Halbert, Vice President for Academic Strategy
Della Teraoka, Acting Vice President and Associate Vice President for the UH Community Colleges
Alan Rosenfeld, Associate Vice President for Academic Programs and Policy
Kathryn Fujioka-Imai, Academic Program Officer, UH Community Colleges
Tiana Loo, Interim Academic and Student Affairs Program Officer, UH Community Colleges
Paul McKimmy, Interim Associate Vice Provost, UH Mānoa

Last modified: November 29, 2023
Back To Top