[174C-7] Commission on water resource management. (a) There is established within the department a commission on water resource management consisting of six members which shall have exclusive jurisdiction and final authority in all matters relating to implementation and administration of the state water code, except as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter.

(b) Four members shall be appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by the senate, in a manner prescribed in subsection (d). Each member shall have substantial experience in the area of water resource management. The chairperson of the board of land and natural resources shall be the chairperson of the commission. The director of health shall serve as an ex officio voting member.

(c) The members of the commission shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for expenses, including travel expenses, necessary for the performance of their duties.

(d) In appointing a member to the commission, the governor shall select from a list submitted by a nominating committee. The nominating committee shall be composed of four individuals chosen as follows: two persons appointed by the governor; one person appointed by the president of the senate; and one person appointed by the speaker of the house. The committee shall solicit applications and send to the governor the names of at least three individuals for each open position.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the commission shall be subject to sections 26-34, 26-35, and 26-36. [L 1987, c 45, pt of 2]

Previous Next