STATUS OF THE SLATE OF 22 NAMES PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR AS OF MAY 1, 2008 FOR 12 SEATS ON THE 15-MEMBER BOARD OF REGENTS

Governor Lingle appointed nominees for the Board of Regents as follows: Two (2) for Honolulu County; two (2) for Hawai'i County; one (1) for Maui County; two (2) for At Large; and one (1) for the Student seats. (Note: One of her nominees for the At Large seat was rejected by the Senate, and she withdrew her nominee for the Student seat).

Senate Confirmations of Governor's Appointees

Honolulu County Seats (2): Howard Karr, Term to Expire June 30, 2011

Dennis Hirota, Term to Expire, June 30, 2012

Hawaii County Seats (2): Carl Carlson, Jr. (West Hawaii), Term to Expire June 30, 2011

Harvey Tajiri (East Hawaii), Term to Expire June 30, 2013

Maui County Seat (1): Artemio Baxa, Term to Expire June 30, 2013

At Large Seat (1): Teena Rasmussen, Term to Expire June 30, 2012

Seats Pending Governor's Appointment and Senate Confirmation

Honolulu County (3); Kaua'i County (1); Student (1); and At Large (1)

<u>Current regents whose terms will not expire in 2008</u>

James Haynes (Maui) - Term to Expire 6/30/10 Allan Landon (Honolulu) - Term to Expire 6/30/09 Ronald Migita (Honolulu) - Term to Expire 6/30/09