PhD Committee Formation

In preparation of advancing to candidacy, doctoral students should work with their advisor to form a committee of a minimum of five (5) committee members. The committee must be comprised of a majority of SLS Graduate Faculty. These faculty include professors in the Department of Second Language Studies as well as professors from other departments who have been approved as SLS Cooperating Graduate Faculty. Please see this page for a list of SLS Graduate Faculty.

SLS Cooperating Graduate Faculty cannot act as University Representatives. To find a potential University Representative and/or other committee members, see the Select Committee Members page on the UHM Graduate Division website.

SLS Affiliate Graduate Faculty can act as inside members of a doctoral committee but cannot act as University Representatives.