CIS FACULTY

The faculty contributing to the Communication and Information Sciences PhD Program reflect the interdisciplinary nature of the program. CIS Graduate Faculty are appointed tenure track faculty from the four partner programs, and may serve as advisors to CIS PhD students, dissertation committee chairpersons, and inside dissertation committee members. CIS Cooperating Graduate Faculty and CIS Affiliate Graduate Faculty may also serve as inside dissertation committee members for CIS PhD dissertations.

For the full list of possible dissertation committee members, please see the Office of Graduate Education web page, and choose Communication and Information Sciences Doctoral program. More info on forming the dissertation committee is to be found here.

CIS Program Chair

 

Rich Gazan

Professor (ICS/LIS)
LIS Program Chair
ICS Associate Department Chair


CIS Graduate Faculty

 

School of Communications

Ann-Auman

Ann Auman

Professor (COM)

Kelly Bergstrom

Assistant Professor (COM)

Wayne Buente

Associate Professor (COM)

email: wbuente@hawaii.edu

Patricia Amaral Buskirk

Associate Professor (COM)

email: pbuskirk@hawaii.edu

CIS compas PhD Hawaii

Julien Gorbach

Assistant Professor (Journalism, COM)

email: gorbach@hawaii.edu

Ji Young Kim

Assistant Professor (COM)
email: jkim22@hawaii.edu

email: gorbach@hawaii.edu

Hanae Kramer

Assistant Professor (COM)

email: hanae@hawaii.edu

Rachel Neo

Assistant Professor (COM)

email: rneo@hawaii.edu

Brett Oppegaard

Associate Professor (Journalism, COM)

email: brett.oppegaard@hawaii.edu

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

Associate Professor (COM)

email: jwinter@hawaii.edu

 

Information and Computer Sciences

Kyungim Baek

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: kyungim@hawaii.edu

Edo Biagioni

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: esb@hawaii.edu

Kim Binsted

Professor (ICS)

email: binsted@hawaii.edu

Henri Casanova

Professor (ICS)

email: henric@hawaii.edu

David N. Chin

Professor (ICS)

email: chin@hawaii.edu

Martha Crosby

Professor (ICS)

email: crosby@hawaii.edu

Rich Gazan

Professor (ICS/LIS)
LIS Program Chair
ICS Associate Department Chair

 

 

 

email: gazan@hawaii.edu

 

Philip Johnson

Professor (ICS)

email: johnson@hawaii.edu

Jason Leigh

Professor (ICS)

email: leighj@hawaii.edu

Depeng Li

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: depengli@hawaii.edu

 

 

Lipyeow Lim

Associate Professor (ICS)

 

email: lipyeow@hawaii.edu

Michael-Brian Ogawa

Associate Faculty Specialist (ICS)

Dusko Pavlovic

Professor (ICS)

email: dusko@hawaii.edu

Guylaine Poisson

Associate Professor (ICS)
Department Associate Chair

 

 

email: guylaine@hawaii.edu

Scott Robertson

Professor (ICS)
Department Chair

 

email: scott.robertson@hawaii.edu

 

Peter Sadowski

 

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: peter.sadowski@hawaii.edu

Peter Michael Seidel

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: pseidel@hawaii.edu

Nodari Sitchinava

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: nodari@hawaii.edu

Jan Stelovsky

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: janst@hawaii.edu

Susanne Still

Professor (ICS)

email: sstill@hawaii.edu

Daniel Suthers

Professor (ICS)

ICS Graduate Program Chair

email: suthers@hawaii.edu

 


Library and Information Science

 

Noriko Asato

Associate Professor (LIS)

email: asaton@hawaii.edu

Rich Gazan

Professor (ICS/LIS)
LIS Program Chair
ICS Associate Department Chair

email: gazan@hawaii.edu

Vanessa Irvin

Assistant Professor (LIS)

email: irvinv@hawaii.edu

Dr. Tonia Sutherland

Tonia Sutherland

Assistant Professor(LIS)

email: tsuther@hawaii.edu

Dr. Tonia Sutherland

Andrew Wertheimer

Associate Professor (LIS)

email: wertheim@hawaii.edu


Information Technology Management

 

Tung Bui

Professor (ITM)
Chair of Information Technology Management

email: tung.bui@hawaii.edu

Hong Mei Chen

Professor (ITM)

email: hmchen@hawaii.edu

Elizabeth J. Davidson

Professor at Information Technology Management, University of Hawai`i at Manoa

email: edavidso@hawaii.edu

Rick Kazman

Professor (ITM)

email: kazman@hawaii.edu

Randy Minas

Assistant Professor (ITM)

email: rminas@hawaii.edu

Daniel Port

Associate Professor (ITM)

email: dport@hawaii.edu

Bo Xiao

Associate Professor (ITM)

email: boxiao@hawaii.edu