CIS FACULTY

The faculty contributing to the Communication and Information Sciences PhD Program reflect the interdisciplinary nature of the program. CIS Graduate Faculty are appointed tenure track faculty from the four partner programs, and may serve as advisors to CIS PhD students, dissertation committee chairpersons, and inside dissertation committee members. CIS Cooperating Graduate Faculty and CIS Affiliate Graduate Faculty may also serve as inside dissertation committee members for CIS PhD dissertations.

For the full list of possible dissertation committee members, please see the Office of Graduate Education web page, and choose Communication and Information Sciences Doctoral program. More info on forming the dissertation committee is to be found here.

CIS Program Chair

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

CIS Program Chair

Email:cischair@hawaii.edu

Interests: My research addresses data governance, policy, and ethics related to big data, artificial intelligence (AI), and the Internet of Things (IoT). I am PI of an NSF-funded grant addressing one the grand challenges of this big data era − how we can harness health data resources for societal good amidst many competing claims on the value to be derived from these data and the substantial risks for individual privacy and security. I also explore the governance of AI and personal health information (PHI), assessing the increasing challenges to governing the PHI essential for advancing AI/machine learning innovations in healthcare. I have participated in several U.S. National Science Foundation events related to privacy and cybersecurity (via the Team for Research in Ubiquitous Secure Technology) and the future of broadband.

Website: Jenifer Winter

Faculty

Photo Professor Department Fields Contact Information
Asato Noriko Noriko Asato LIS Print Cultures, Librarianship, Censorship asaton@hawaii.edu
Auman Ann Ann Auman COM
Cross-Cultural/Global Media Ethics, News Literacy, Mobile Journalism
auman@hawaii.edu
Biagioni Edo Edo Biagioni ICS Networking, Systems and Languages, Networking Security esb@hawaii.edu
Binsted Kim Kim Binsted ICS Human Communication, Information Management,
Intelligent Interfaces
binsted@hawaii.edu
Portrait of Wayne Buente University of Hawaii, Communication/Journalism department Wayne Buente COM Social Media, Information Inequality, Democracy wbuente@hawaii.edu
Bui Tung Tung Bui ITM Computer-supported Group Decision tung.bui@hawaii.edu
Portrait of Patricia Buskirk, University of Hawaii, Communication/Journalism department Patricia Amaral Buskirk COM Emergent Media, Indigenous Storytelling,
Creative Communication
pbuskirk@hawaii.edu
Casanova Henri Henri Casanova ICS Parallel and Distributed Computing, Grid Computing henric@hawaii.edu
Chen Hong Mei Hong-Mei Chen ITM Service Engineering and Business-IT Alignment hmchen@hawaii.edu
Chin David N. David N. Chin ICS Artificial Intelligence, User Interface,
Geographic Information Systems
 chin@hawaii.edu
Crosby Martha Martha Crosby ICS Human-Computer Interaction, Human Factors,
Cognitive Science
crosby@hawaii.edu
Davidson Elizabeth J. Elizabeth J. Davidson ITM Health Informatics, Information Technology Management,
Organizational Theory
edavidso@hawaii.edu
Gazan Rich Rich Gazan ICS/LIS User Modeling, Natural Language Processing,
AI for Computer Games
gazan@hawaii.edu
Orbach Julien Julien Gorbach COM History of American Media, Middle East,
Literary Journalism
gorbach@hawaii.edu
Irvin Vanessa Vanessa Irvin LIS Public Libraries, Reference Services, Youth Services irvinv@hawaii.edu
Johnson Philip Philip Johnson ICS Climate Change, Software Engineering, Serious Games johnson@hawaii.edu
Kazman Rick Rick Kazman ITM Software Architecture, Human-Computer Interaction kazman@hawaii.edu
Kim Ji Young Ji Young Kim COM Strategic Communication Management, Public Relations,
Agenda-Building Theory
jkim22@hawaii.edu
Kramer Hanae Hanae Kramer COM Intercultural and Global Communication, Literature,
Media Campaigns
hanae@hawaii.edu
Leigh Jason Jason Leigh ICS Big Data Visualization, Virtual Reality,
High Performance Networking
leighj@hawaii.edu
Li Depeng Depeng Li ICS Security and Privacy, Internet of Things, Applied Crytography depengli@hawaii.edu
Lim Lipyeow Lipyeow Lim ICS Big Data Management, Database Query Optimization lipyeow@hawaii.edu
Minas Randy Randy Minas ITM Cognitive Biases, Collaboration, Decision-making rminas@hawaii.edu
Moore Colin Colin Moore COM American Political Development, Health Policy cdmoore@hawaii.edu
Neo Rachel Rachel Neo COM Political Communication, Social Media, Persuasion rneo@hawaii.edu
Ogawa Michael-Brian Michael-Brian Ogawa ICS Information, Computer Education,
Cyber and Physical Security
ogawam@hawaii.edu
Brett Oppegaard Brett Oppegaard COM Ubiquitous Computing, Mobile Media, Locative Media brett.oppegaard@hawaii.edu
Pavlovic Dusko Dusko Pavlovic ICS Cyber Security, Information Assurance,
Quantum Information Theory
dusko@hawaii.edu
Poisson Guylaine Guylaine Poisson ICS Bioinformatics, Computational Biology guylaine@hawaii.edu
Port Daniel Daniel Port ITM Information Technology Engineering dport@hawaii.edu
Robertson Scott Scott Robertson ICS Human-Computer Interaction,
Social Media and Civic Engagement,
Digital Government
scott.robertson@hawaii.edu
Sadowski Peter Peter Sadowski ICS Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence peter.sadowski@hawaii.edu
Seidel Peter Michael Peter-Michael Seidel ICS Formal Methods, Computer Arithmetic,
Digital Hardware Design
pseidel@hawaii.edu
Sitchinava Nodari Nodari Sitchinava ICS Design and Analysis of Algorithms nodari@hawaii.edu
Stelovsky Jan Jan Stelovsky ICS Multimedia, Human-Computer Interaction,
Software Architectures
janst@hawaii.edu
Still Susanne Susanne Still ICS Machine Learning, Interactive Learning,
Predictive Models of Time Series Data
sstill@hawaii.edu
Sutherland Tonia Tonia Sutherland ICS Information and Communication Technologies,
Digital Cultures
tsuther@hawaii.edu
Suthers Daniel Daniel Suthers ICS Technology Enhanced Learning,
Human-Computer Interaction,
Social Informatics
suthers@hawaii.edu
Wertheimer Andrew Andrew Wertheimer LIS Information Science, History of Libraries & Archives,
Collection Management
wertheim@hawaii.edu
Winter Jenifer Sunrise Jenifer Sunrise Winter COM Big Data Governance (Privacy, Security),
Artificial Intelligence Ethics,
Information Policy
jwinter@hawaii.edu
Xiao Bo Bo Xiao ITM Human-Computer Interaction,
Dark Side of Digitization,
Health Information Systems
boxiao@hawaii.edu