All ten campuses of the university system are separately and regionally accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC).

  1. UH Mānoa, UH Hilo, UH West Oʻahu and UH Maui College are accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC).
  2. The UH Community Colleges are accredited by the WASC Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC).

Regional accreditation means that, as the result of an external review process, the university is judged to be fulfilling its stated purposes and can be expected to continue to do so. Students and the public can be assured that University of Hawaiʻi campuses have met standards of quality across the entire range of institutional activities. Regional accreditation is a basic criterion whereby U.S. higher education institutions accept transfer credit.

Table: University of Hawaiʻi Status of Accreditation
Campus    Accrediting Body   Status
UH System Each campus is separately accredited.
UH Mānoa WASC Senior Commission
UH Hilo WASC Senior Commission
UH West Oʻahu WASC Senior Commission
UH Community Colleges Each college is separately accredited.
Hawaiʻi CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
Honolulu CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
Kapiʻolani CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
Kauaʻi CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
Leeward CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
UH Maui College WASC Senior Commission
Windward CC WASC-ACCJC Commission
Last modified: June 9, 2022