The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Ronald Amundson, headshot

Ronald Amundson

Ronald Amundson is a professor of philosophy and chair of the UH Hilo philosophy and religious studies department. Colleagues praised Amundson as "a committed scholar who loves his field of study" and a "people person who enjoys getting to know his students as people, not just warm bodies."

A UH Hilo senior with dual majors in history and philosophy credits Amundson as the inspiration for his decision to declare a second major in philosophy. "Professor Amundson has demonstrated again and again an ability to invoke with enthusiasm the desire for growth and understanding in students," the student noted.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students.

Select a recipient below for more about that individual.

Or view winners by year: 2012 |2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Kauka de Silva, headshot
Kauka de Silva
David A. Krupp, headshot
David A. Krupp
Lena Y.P. Low, headshot
Lena Y.P. Low
Paul Lyons, headshot
Paul Lyons
Joni Onishi, headshot
Joni Onishi
Mary C. Summers, headshot
Mary C. Summers
, headshot
David Yang