Maria Gallo

Maria Gallo, dean of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR) and director of research and cooperative extension, has been named a Crop Science Society of America Fellow for 2013.

The international science organization will present its highest honor to Gallo and 10 others from across North America on November 6, 2013, during its annual meeting in Tampa, Florida. Fellows are elected by select Crop Science Society of America members based on professional achievements and meritorious service; they comprise just .3 percent of the society membership.

Gallo is a plant geneticist who uses molecular biology and biotechnology techniques to improve the performance and quality of tropical energy and agronomic crops. She has led federally funded multidisciplinary initiatives to improve undergraduate teaching and graduate education.

An American Society of Agronomy Fellow and 2004 Fulbright Scholar, Gallo served as Crop Science Society of America president in 2011. She has also been chair of the Alliance of Crop, Soil and Environmental Science Societies and president of the American Peanut Research and Education Society.

Gallo joins CTAHR Horticulturist James Brewbaker as a Crop Science Society of America Fellow. Former CTAHR dean William Furtick and the late soil scientist Goro Uehara also received the honor.

More about the Crop Science Society of America

The Crop Science Society of America is a more than 6,000 member international scientific society founded in 1955 and headquartered in Madison, Wisconsin. Members advance the discipline by acquiring and disseminating information about crop breeding and genetics; crop physiology; crop ecology, management and quality; seed physiology, production and technology; turfgrass science; forage and grazing lands; genomics, molecular genetics and biotechnology; and biomedical and enhanced plants.