Skip to content
Reading time: 3 minutes

pearl harbor world war 2 scene

To honor the valor displayed by the former cadets of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) on December 7, 1941, the unit was awarded a battle streamer, a distinguished honor which acknowledged them as the first and only ROTC unit to engage in active war service during World War II. The commemoration of this historic recognition has since been integrated into the Army ROTC’s annual fall awards ceremony.

cadet speaking at the podium
Rainey takes a moment to commemorate Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day.

On December 7, 2023, the awards ceremony acknowledged students of the current UH Warrior Battalion for their exceptional representation at various sporting and ceremonial events held during the semester.

“The UH Army ROTC will always remember and honor all the brave service members who made the ultimate sacrifice that day, and the courage of those cadets who stepped up to serve,” said incoming CDT Battalion Commander McKinley Rainey. “We are honored here at the Warrior Battalion to be a part of the same program they once were as we also recognize our current cadets for their outstanding performances.”

Cadet awards

  • Hype Squad Volunteers, a team of cadets who attend UH football games to motivate and show military support for the Rainbow Warriors. The recipients are: Lydia Amisone, Carlene Blailes, Hyeonjeun Choi, Anneliese Christie, Sony Cope, Desirae Dame, Sofia Diaz Loaiza, Dylan Dietz, Julie Etbauer, Carlos Farfan, Jonathan Fowler, Matthew Fucella, Nathan Khamphasouk, Kylier Kuper, Summer Miller, Braydon Mohr, Natasha Nelson, Jenoha Orias, Axel Rosal, Dominic Roudabush, Evan Shiroma, Paris Steams, Collin Van Allen, Samantha Villanueva, Cassandra Wisher and Jordyn Yoder.
  • The Top Volunteer Award was awarded to Desirae Dame for demonstrating the utmost selfless service and dedication in volunteering and supporting the Warrior Battalion.
  • cadet is congratulated by army officer
    Yailenne Rosado (right) is a recipient of The Company Leadership Award.
  • The Top Performing Award is presented to cadets who represent the Warrior Battalion with outstanding fitness by obtaining the highest scores on the Army combat fitness test. The recipients are: Military Science (MS) I: Dominic Roudaboush and Cassandra Wisher; MSII: Carlin Wegle and Sofia Diaz; MSIII: Jace Patsel and Natasha Nelson; and MSIV: Terrance Lowder and Mia Ruiz.
  • The Warrior ʻuhane Award was presented to Evan Shiroma for representing the Warrior spirit and inspiring commitment to the Warrior Battalion.
  • The Company Leadership Award is presented to top cadets in each company who demonstrate a commitment to self-growth and development and being the consummate team player. They are: MSI: Cassandra Wisher, MSII: Julia Etbauer, MSIII: Benjamin Carlin and MSIV: Yailenne Rosado.
  • The Battalion Commander Award was presented to Carlin Wegley as the top cadet who continuously exemplifies the Army values and Warrior ethos.
  • Campus-based ROTC scholarships are presented to cadets who encompass the scholar-leader model.The fall recipient is Matthew Fucella.
  • The Howard S. and Yukiko Okada Endowed Student Support Fund Award is presented to Daryleen Moi-Tuimaseve who exemplifies excellence in their leadership abilities and qualities and demonstrates outstanding achievement.

During the spring awards ceremony held in May, all UH Mānoa ROTC units, including Army, Navy and Air Force, take part in a joint recognition event for outstanding cadets and scholarship recipients. The UH Warrior Battalion includes students from UH Mānoa, UH West Oʻahu, Chaminade University and Hawaiʻi Pacific University.

Back To Top