Admissions Committee (Chair: Andrew Wertheimer)

The Admissions Committee coordinates all aspects of student admissions and new student orientation. Each semester, the work of the Admissions Committee begins upon initial receipt of an inquiry from a prospective student, and ends when all incoming students are successfully assigned to a faculty advisor and enrolled in their courses. The LIS Coordinator fields, responds to and tracks inquiries from prospective students, and works with the Admissions Committee to support the needs of incoming students and transition them successfully into the Program.

Assessment Committee / Working Committee on Accreditation (Chair: Rich Gazan)

The Working Committee on Accreditation includes all full-time faculty members, supported by administrative staff and student workers. The Working Committee is established roughly two years prior to each American Library Association accreditation cycle, and analyzes and distills program data and documentation to create a formal Program Presentation, demonstrating how the LIS Program meets ALA accreditation standards. The Working Committee on Accreditation hibernates after each accreditation cycle is complete; its work is continued by the Assessment Committee.

Curriculum Committee (Chair: Noriko Asato)

The primary charge of the Curriculum Committee is to assess the LIS curriculum for adherence to Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs), and to evolve the SLOs themselves. The Curriculum Committee also researches, recommends and implements changes to the LIS curriculum, and proposes courses and other educational experiences inside and outside of LIS to meet curricular objectives.

Diversity Committee (Chair: Vanessa Irvin)

The Diversity Committee works with all elements of the UHM LIS Program to underscore the Program’s values to “honor and strive to adopt Native Hawaiian values rooted in the concepts of aloha, ʻohana, and kuleana” (UH LIS mission). In this vein, the Diversity Committee realizes its charge by offering aloha-spirited support to the LIS student body, faculty, and alumni. The committee serves to meet the Program’s goal of kuleana by serving the multi-cultural needs of an inclusive, diverse student population, specifically within a Hawaiian place of learning and inquiry. The committee fosters the Program’s ‘ohana by sponsoring and supporting UHM LIS programs, events, and interactions that emphasize our advocacy for thriving in a diverse Hawaiian environment within an international professional community.

Outreach Committee (Chair: Meera Garud)

The Outreach Committee works closely with the LIS Coordinator to recruit new students, cultivate and maintain relationships with external stakeholders such as alumni and professional organizations, create professional development activities, maintain the LIS social media presence and other communications, and coordinate LIS events

Research Committee (Chair: Tonia Sutherland)

The Research Committee is charged with creating and maintaining a thriving research environment for LIS faculty and students. This includes improving access to research tools and facilities, increasing research opportunities for students, and developing research partnerships with units across campus.

Scholarship Committee (Chair: Meera Garud)

The Scholarship Committee advertises and informs LIS students about available scholarships. It works closely with faculty and UH Foundation to administer and award LIS program scholarships. It also maintains a resource page about other university, state, and national scholarships (