Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes
2016 UH Regents and Presidential Scholars

The University of Hawaiʻi honored the 2016 Regents and Presidential Scholars on July 21 at the UH Mānoa Campus Center Ballroom. The scholarships recognize and support Hawaiʻi students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and presidential scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

Regents scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen with strong GPAs and national entrance exam scores and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

“This program highlights some of the brightest, hard-working students the state has to offer,” said UH Board of Regents Chair Jan Sullivan. “The university is proud to support these students in following their dreams. We look forward to the contributions and the positive impacts they will make to our community and to the world.”

Presidential scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a high GPA for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

“These students have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement during their time with UH,” said UH President David Lassner. “It’s a real honor to recognize them and support their paths to college completion in two more years to they can reach their goals and advance the futures of their families, their communities and the world around us.”

The 2016 Regents Scholars

  • Jared Au, Mililani
  • Micah Axalan, Campbell
  • Elizabeth Baker, Mililani
  • Emily Ball, ʻAiea
  • Ana Bitter, Waiakea
  • Hannah Blue, Waiakea
  • Kayli Chun, Mililani
  • Moana Kimura, Kalani
  • Arianna Kirschenbaum, Punahou
  • Summer Lecher, Kalaheo
  • Micah Leval, Saint Anthony
  • Shannon Mau, Hawaiʻi Baptist
  • Olivia Murray, Waiakea
  • Janel Okamura, Pearl City
  • Bethany Okuna, Pearl City
  • Cayla-Arielle Paulo, Waiʻanae
  • Sophia Rathyen, Mililani
  • Kellen Tasaka, Roosevelt
  • Gina Watanabe, Moanalua
  • Nicholas Yama, Kalani

The 2016 Presidential Scholars

  • Clare-Marie Anderson, UH Mānoa
  • Rebecca Bootes, Kapiʻolani CC
  • John Katzeman, UH Mānoa
  • Darius Kawelolani, Leeward CC
  • Sean Kirkpatrick, Hawaiʻi CC
  • Stuart Martin, UH Mānoa
  • Sharyse Nadamoto, UH Mānoa
  • Micah Pascual, UH Mānoa
  • Kilohana Roberts, UH West Oʻahu
  • Kelsie Teves, UH Mānoa
  • Kelly Zheng, UH Mānoa
Back To Top