Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes


Gov. David Ige submitted the names of eight nominees for the Mauna Kea Stewardship and Oversight Authority, a new management body tasked with decision making and stewardship relating to Maunakea. The list of nominees now heads to the Hawaiʻi State Senate for confirmation. A University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa professor, former Hawaiʻi Community College associate professor, University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents member and UH Hilo chancellor are among the proposed members for the new Authority which was established via Act 255 (HB2024).

“I want to thank these individuals for stepping forward. Through this new stewardship model, I believe we can find a way for science and culture to coexist on Mauna Kea in a mutually beneficial way,” said Ige.


  • Kamanamaikalani Beamer: An individual with ʻāina (land) resource management expertise and specific experience with Hawaiʻi island‑based management. Beamer is a professor at Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies in the Hui ʻĀina Momona Program at UH Mānoa.
  • Gary Krug: An individual who is recognized as possessing expertise in the fields of preschool through 12th-grade public education or post-secondary education.
  • Rich Matsuda: A representative from a list of three names submitted by Mauna Kea Observatories.
  • John Komeiji: An individual with business and finance experience who has previous administrative experience in managing a large private-sector business.
  • Pomaikai Bertelmann: An individual who is a lineal descendent of a practitioner of Native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices associated with Mauna Kea.
  • Joshua Mangauil: An individual who is a recognized practitioner of Native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices.
  • Paul Horner: An individual from a list of three names submitted by the President of the Senate.
  • Michelle “Noe Noe” Wong-Wilson: An individual from a list of three names submitted by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Wilson is a retired Hawaiʻi CC Hawaiian Studies assistant professor.

Three ex-officio, voting members will also serve on the Authority

  • The chairperson of the Board of Land and Natural Resources, or the chairperson’s designee. This position is currently held by Chair Suzanne Case.
  • The mayor of the County of Hawaiʻi, or the mayor’s designee. Mayor Mitch Roth has designated Douglass Shipman Adams, director, research and development management.
  • The chairperson of the UH Board of Regents, or a designee. Chairperson Randy Moore has designated UH Regent Eugene Bal III.

The UH Hilo Chancellor will be an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Authority. This position is currently held by Chancellor Bonnie Irwin.

Back To Top