Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

Charlot mural at Bachman Hall

The University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents unanimously approved the 12 people nominated to serve on the Presidential Search Advisory Group PSAG for the search for UH’s next president. The vote came on March 7 during a special meeting of the regents.

Approved members of the search group:

  • Jaret KC Leong—Director of Mānoa Academy and Academic Pathways; UH Staff Council Co-Chair, PSAG Co-Chair
  • Erin E. Centeio—UH Mānoa Associate Professor in the College of Education; All Campus Council for Faculty Senate Chairs (ACCFSC) Co-Chair, PSAG Co-Chair
  • Lindsey Millerd—UH West Oʻahu ASUH President; UH Student Caucus Representative
  • Kamakanaokealoha Aquino—Native Hawaiian Coordinator, Pūko’a Council Representative
  • Dominique Bonifacio—Leeward Community College ASUH senator
  • Jerris R. Hedges—UH Mānoa John A. Burns School of Medicine Dean Emeritus
  • Brandon Marc T. Higa—Former UH regent, Kapiʻolani Community College Grants Office Director
  • Duane K. Kurisu—Former UH regent, aio Chairman and CEO
  • Tammi Oyadomari-Chun—Hawaiʻi Department of Education Deputy Superintendent of Strategy
  • Dirk Soma—Kauaʻi Community College Associate Professor of Business
  • Livingston “Jack” Wong—Kamehameha Schools Chief Executive Officer
  • Noe Noe Wong-Wilson—Hawaiian Civic Club of Hilo President, ʻĀina Aloha Economic Development Futures Initiative Founding Co-Author

Communications to the PSAG can be made through email at

Acting board Chair Gabriel Lee stepped down from his role as a liaison from the BOR to the advisory group held with fellow Regent Ernie Wilson. The board voted unanimously for Regent Laurie Tochiki to replace Lee.

Regents also voted to require advisory group members to sign a confidentiality agreement and have an ethics inquiry on any potential conflicts. The BOR will decide on the group’s exact responsibilities at a future meeting.

In related news, the firm selected to help in the presidential search, WittKieffer, will present recommendations for next steps to the regents at the March 21 board meeting.

UH President David Lassner announced in September 2023 that he is retiring in 2024.

Back To Top