skip to Main Content

Jason Elam at the 2018 NCAA Convention at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, IN. Photo credit: Jamie Schwaberow/NCAA Photos

Former University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa football player Jason Elam, who later became a three-time All-Pro and two-time Super Bowl champion with the Denver Broncos, received the 2018 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Silver Anniversary Award on Wednesday evening during the NCAA Honors Celebration in Indianapolis.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes six distinguished former student-athletes on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers. The award is based on collegiate and professional accomplishments, as well as contributions to professional organizations and charitable and civic activities.

In addition to Elam, the other recipients were: Julie Foudy (Stanford), Jim Hansen (Colorado), Nnenna Lynch (Villanova), David Morrow (Princeton) and Lance Pilch (Air Force).

Elam is the third UH student-athlete to be recognized in the last decade. The other UH recipients are former UH swimmer Maureen O’Toole (2010) and former Rainbow Wahine volleyball and basketball player Deitre Collins (2009).

For full story visit the UH Mānoa Athletics website.

This Post Has One Comment
  1. Jason Elam was seated with us at our table during a University of Hawaii fundraiser kickoff dinner. He was just starting his senior year but his courtesy toward us strangers made us instant Jason Elam fans, and we enjoyed watching him play throughout his career, even if we were ’49er Faithful. Very happy for him. Congratulations, Jason!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top