The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Aaron T. Ohta, headshot

Aaron T. Ohta

Aaron Ohta is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at UH Manoa.

Two of Ohta’s goals in teaching are shaping students into critical thinkers and life-long learners and enhancing student educational experience through innovative approaches to undergraduate education. One of his efforts includes inverting a course by pre-recording lectures, which are viewed by students prior to class, using class time to interactively solve problems and participate in collaborations and discussion.

Recognized by his colleagues for his outstanding teaching and mentoring, they highlight specifically the required undergraduate course sequence, where he carries one of the highest teaching loads in the department.

As testament to his dedication, many of Ohta’s undergraduate students are awardees in project competitions at the campus, national and international levels and other undergraduate projects have led to conference and journal publications. He is described as an exceptional advisor and mentor to students awarded for their projects and for their assistant teaching.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students.

Please contact your Campus Chancellor's Office for more information on the application process.

Current Winners
Go to UH News for stories on the latest honorees.

1965–2014 Honorees
2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Brian Cassity, headshot
Brian L. Cassity
Roy Kamida, headshot
Roy Y. Kamida
Katie Landgraf, headshot
Katie Landgraf
West O‘ahu
Victoria Mathis, headshot
Victoria Mathis
Norman Takeya, headshot
Norman Takeya
Charles Whitten, headshot
Charles Whitten