Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

photo of uh manoa entrance

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa will celebrate 30 of its finest faculty, staff and students with various teaching, research and service awards at the 2023 Mānoa Awards Ceremony.

The annual awards ceremony will be held Monday, May 1 at 3:30 p.m. at Kennedy Theatre.

UH President David Lassner and UH Mānoa Provost Michael Bruno, along with Board of Regents Chair Randy Moore will honor the award recipients and celebrate the accomplishments of these individuals. A live video stream of the event will be available.

2023 UH Mānoa Awards winners

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching

  • Rosanna ʻAnolani Alegado, associate professor, oceanography
  • Tammy Hailiʻōpua Baker, associate professor, theatre and dance
  • Richard Chen, associate professor, law
  • Monica LaBriola, assistant professor, history
  • Summer Puanani Maunakea, assistant professor, curriculum studies
  • Alexander Stokes, assistant professor, cell and molecular biology

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Research

  • Kenneth Chambers, astronomer, astronomy
  • Jeffrey Drazen, professor, oceanography
  • Shadia Habbal, astronomer/faculty chair, astronomy

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • E. Kalikoaloha Martin Jr., instructor, Hawaiian language

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (Graduate Assistant)

  • Manca Sustarsic, PhD candidate, educational foundations

Robert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service

  • Chet-Yeng Loong, professor, music

Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching

  • Mary Shin Kim, associate professor, Korean linguistics
  • Hannah-Hanh Nguyen, associate professor, management
  • Kevin Nute, professor, architecture
  • Jayson Parba, instructor, Filipino language and culture
  • Tyler Ray, assistant professor, mechanical engineering
  • Jamie Simpson Steele, professor, education

Presidential Award for Outstanding Service

  • Maggie McGehee, university scheduler, Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Excellence
  • Siausage (Sonny) Ugaitafa, equipment operator, Campus Operations
  • Elaine Nakahashi, secretary, Department of Anthropology
  • Thomas Tsutsumoto, junior specialist, Mānoa Career Center

Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award

  • Winona Lee, associate professor/director, John A. Burns School of Medicine

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award

  • Kathryn Braun, professor, public health

Pakela Outstanding Academic Advisor of the Year Award

  • Siobhán Ní Dhonacha, faculty specialist/academic advisor, Honors Program

Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research and Creative Work

  • Wendy Kawabata, professor, art and art history
  • Craig Nelson, associate researcher, oceanography

Student Excellence in Research Award

  • Jason Hinkle, PhD candidate, astronomy
  • Xiaojie (Sherry) Xu, PhD candidate, mechanical engineering

Student Employee of the Year

  • Binierose Cacho, special programs coordinator, Office of Enrollment Management

See the awards page for a complete list of winner biographies.

Back To Top