Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute
man standing behind podium
Rick Jones

The National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA) has honored University of Hawaiʻi–West Oʻahu Professor Rick Jones with its lifetime achievement award for his contributions to Earth science education.

The Jan Woerner/Harold Stonehouse Lifetime Achievement Award is given at the discretion of the NESTA Executive Board in recognition of an individual or organization’s efforts in promoting Earth science education in keeping with the goals of NESTA.

“Congratulations to Dr. Jones for this prestigious NESTA award that recognizes his dedicated service to the profession and STEM community!” Education Division Chair Mary Heller said. “As a valued member of our Education Division ʻohana, we are truly grateful for his leadership, in the service of high quality, K–12 science education.”

Jones, a professor of science education, is the 17th recipient of the award, which was given at the NESTA National Conference on Science Education in Atlanta, Georgia, in March. Jones is also the recipient of the 1996 National Presidential Award for Excellence in Secondary Science for Montana, is a Tandy Technology Scholar (1997), served as an Albert Einstein Distinguished Education Fellow in the U.S. Department of Energy in 2002–03, and received the UH Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching in 2014.

Back To Top