The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Laura Lees, headshot

Laura Lees

An instructor in English, Laura Lees is deeply passionate about teaching and gives confidence to all of her students by empowering them and creating an atmosphere of enjoyable learning. Lees excels with students with developmental needs and finds innovative and effective strategies to help them be successful in her class and their overall college experience.

Lees believes that all students have strengths and talents and thsat her role is to provide the guidance in facilitating and accentuating those traits to achieve personal and professional success. Lees exemplifies the qualities of an educator who lives and breathes excitement, intelligence and integrity.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Diane Caulfield, headshot
Diane Caulfield
Krista Hiser, headshot
Krista Hiser
Frank Kudo, headshot
Frank Kudo
West O‘ahu
Ross Langston, headshot
Ross Langston
Shelley Ota, headshot
Shelley Ota
Taupouri Tangaro, headshot
Taupouri Tangaro