Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

UH All-Americans

Six University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa men’s volleyball players were selected to the NVA/AVCA (National Volleyball Association/American Volleyball Coaches Association) All-America team, including three on the first team. That is a record for UH.

Jakob Thelle
Jakob Thelle

Setter Jakob Thelle, opposite Dimitrios Mouchlias and middle blocker Guilherme Voss were named to the first team; outside hitter Spyros Chakas was picked to the second team; and outside hitter Chaz Galloway and libero Brett Sheward were honorable mention.

The previous high of five players happened in 2015, ’18, ’19 and ’21.

Thelle earned his third All-American honor and second straight first-team selection. The Tønsberg, Norway native also received honorable mention in 2021. The two-time Big West Player of the Year leads the nation in assists per set while directing the nation’s second-best offense. Two weeks ago, Thelle helped lead the Rainbow Warriors to their second straight Big West Championship and, in the process, was named tournament Most Outstanding Player for the second straight year.

An honorable mention honoree last season, Mouchlias is UH‘s top attacker this season, leading the team in kills, which ranks No. 8 nationally. The Soufli, Greece native is second on the team in service aces and leads the team with 19 matches of 10+ kills.

Dimitrios Mouchlias, Spyros Chakas
Dimitrios Mouchlias and Spyros Chakas during a play.

Voss anchors the middle for one of the nation’s top blocking teams. The Rio de Janeiro, Brazil native ranks No. 5 nationally in blocks per set. Last season, Voss was a second team selection after ranking No. 2 nationally in blocking.

Chakas earned his second straight second-team honor. The Nea Smyrni, Greece native ranks second on the team in both kills per set and digs per set. He also leads the team with 34 aces.

Sheward and Galloway each earned their first All-America award. Both are juniors from California.

The AVCA Coach and Assistant Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, May 2 while the Player of the Year award will be revealed on Wednesday, May 3.

The Warriors open play in the NCAA Championship in the semifinal round on May 4, when they will face the winner of an opening round match between Penn State and Ohio State.

Back To Top