The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Richard Jones, headshot

Richard Jones
West O‘ahu

Richard Jones is an assistant professor in elementary education at UH West O‘ahu.

A true believer that science is everywhere, he adapts and modifies numerous lessons, labs and activities to use local data, local geomorphology and local issues to which the students can directly relate.

Prior to joining UH West O‘ahu, Jones was a science teacher in Montana and Kaua‘i. He also worked at the U.S. Department of Energy as an Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow where he focused on science education programs.

Students leave his classroom with a genuine appreciation and understanding of science and the ability to teach it themselves. “My outlook on science is so much different now. I actually love science and am so excited to try all the wonderful things I did in this course with my future students,” said a UH West O’ahu elementary education student.

Jones’ leadership duties include being the president of the Hawai‘i Science Teachers Association and one of the co-principal investigators for the university’s $245,000 STEM Center of Excellence Grant. He was also recently appointed to the National Science Teachers Association Committee on College Science Teaching where he will help guide policies, programs and activities related to the teaching of college science.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Richard Jones, headshot
Richard Jones
West O‘ahu
Helmut Kae, headshot
Helmut Kae
Paul Lavy, headshot
Paul Lavy
Michael Paulding, headshot
Michael Paulding
Kavita Rao, headshot
Kavita Rao
Sandra Sanpei, headshot
Sandra Sanpei
Jody-Lynn Storm, headshot
Jody-Lynn Storm
Gordon Talbo, headshot
Gordon Talbo
Alice Tse, headshot
Alice Tse