The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Annette Ku‘uipolani Wong, headshot

Annette Ku‘uipolani Wong

Annette Wong is an assistant professor in the Hawai‘inuiakea School of Hawaiian Knowledge at UH Manoa.

Wong takes inspiration from an entry in ‘Olelo No‘eau by Mary K. Pukui: “All knowledge is not taught in the same school.” Native to Ni‘ihau, Wong recognizes the depth and significance of this proverb and, as such, involves herself, her students and colleagues in learning that extends beyond the classroom.

She founded and coordinates Kaulakahi Aloha, a professional development opportunity for Kawaihuelani faculty and graduate students to participate in a Hawaiian immersion camp on Kaua‘i, including a trip to Ni‘ihau. She created La Manaleo or Native Speaker Day, at which invited native speakers of Hawaiian present to and interact with all Hawaiian language students and faculty.

The Manaleo Office that Wong oversees is open daily for students to spend time and talk story with native speakers.

Inside the classroom, students value the interesting, engaged, deeply relevant quality of her classes, and the comfortable environment and confidence she creates, so favorable and fundamental to second language acquisition.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Richard Jones, headshot
Richard Jones
West O‘ahu
Helmut Kae, headshot
Helmut Kae
Paul Lavy, headshot
Paul Lavy
Michael Paulding, headshot
Michael Paulding
Kavita Rao, headshot
Kavita Rao
Sandra Sanpei, headshot
Sandra Sanpei
Jody-Lynn Storm, headshot
Jody-Lynn Storm
Gordon Talbo, headshot
Gordon Talbo
Alice Tse, headshot
Alice Tse