The UH System

Who We Are

UH Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching

Manoa’s Meritorious Teachers

Joel Moffett, headshot

Joel Moffett
Art and Art History

Joel Moffett is an assistant professor in the Academy for Creative Media. As a teacher of art, Moffett has enormous respect for the creative process and encourages students to take risks, experiment and explore.

His aim in teaching is to develop students’ understanding of specific artistic principles and cultivate their ability to apply these lessons to their film work.

Spurred by both his commitment to building a film school and his focus on screenwriting, Moffett has created a number of filmmaker initiatives to help nurture underrepresented voices within the student community. He established the internship program for the Lost television set that allowed students to participate in a 16-week program to learn about the local film industry.

Moffett won the Best Short Film award at the 2008 London Independent Film Festival for his film Horsepower and the Award of Merit for a short film, Poi Dogs.

The University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching recognizes Manoa faculty members who have made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Select a recipient for more about that individual or view winners from 2002–2006.


Steven Businger, headshot
Steven Businger
Charles Fletcher, headshot
Charles Fletcher
Geology and Geophysics
Wendell Kekailoa Perry, headshot
Wendell Kekailoa Perry
Hawaiian Studies


Jonathan Deenik, headshot
Jonathan Deenik
Tropical Plant and Soil Sciences
Michael Dunn, headshot
Michael Dunn
Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences
Joel Moffett, headshot
Joel Moffett
Academy for Creative Media
Michael Nassir, headshot
Michael Nassir
Physics and Astronomy


Kate Lingley, headshot
Kate Lingley
Art and Art History


Jane Kadohiro, headshot
Jane Kadohiro
Sankaran Krishna, headshot
Sankaran Krishna
Political Science
Gregg Lizenbery, headshot
Gregg Lizenbery
Theatre and Dance
Lois Yamauchi, headshot
Lois Yamauchi
Educational Psychology


Daphne Desser, headshot
Daphne Desser
David Haymer, headshot
David Haymer
Paula Morelli, headshot
Paula Morelli
Social Work
Amy Schafer, headshot
Amy Schafer
Janet Uyehara, headshot
Janet Uyehara